Camp NaNoWriMo: Week 3

Hello, Week 3. I’m sorry I’m not looking my best. My free time has been devoted to you, so certain things like brushing my hair or exercising have fallen by the wayside. And I’ve had a migraine since you started, so my face is all scrunched up until the excedrin kicks in.

Hello, Week 3. My word count is high enough to scare me. It tells me that I’m no longer messing around with the idea of a book. It is  a book. Half of it is written, and all that’s left is to have it run to its natural conclusion. It’s all momentum now, and I’m getting vertigo up here.

Hello, Week 3. It’s harder to get excited about you. I’m feeling wrung out and tired, and it’s harder to think of ideas, let alone let them flow. Sleep is a mythical creature, hanging out with it’s friends, the unicorn and the kraken. I worry that one day I will collapse in verbal exhaustion.

Hello, Week 3. I know you are only here for a short time, and I should make the most of you while you’re around, but I can’t help but resent you. I wish you were Week 4, so that I could see the light at the end of the tunnel. It’s still a vague pinprick I know is ahead of me, but I can’t make it out.

Let’s not lie to each other, Week 3. I don’t like you, and you’re not especially fond of me. But let’s just get through this and then mutually agree to see other people.

image

Current NaNo Word Count: 31895/67000

Leave a Reply

