Camp NaNoWriMo: The Recap

What I Tell People I'm Writing

What I Tell People I’m Writing

Ah, another Camp NaNoWriMo is drawing to a close. And thus my months languishing without that word count widget begin.

I just really love that widget. Super nerdy graph love. And I will worship whoever can show me how to get that graph year round, that’s how much I love it.

So, what did I take away from this NaNo?

Kids, what did we learn today?

As Kermit says at the start of every episode of Sesame Street, this episode is brought to you by the letter m. For “madness”.

Really, this draft of my MS was driven by madness and obsession. It was a dark, lonely, and vaguely unwashed month. It was a very single-minded July. Which is how I managed to finish early.

So…now what?

I am staring into the gaping maw of free time. Which is quickly becoming one of my fears.

The draft is done and off to the betas. And I will not pester them. I will distract myself with the millions of story ideas that cropped up while I was so single minded and are now fighting for attention. I have to pick one to focus on for a while.

Well then, what does August look like?

  • Sleep. I most definitely need to catch up on sleep.
  • Seeing other people. Hello, friends and family. I have missed you.
  • Research. All the research. Oscillating between two projects, so I’m going to get some research done for both. And, sadly, the research does not really overlap. One gets Japanese history, the other gets comic books. Will have to try not to overtax my brain.
  • Outlining! All the outlining! Outlining those two projects, maybe a few more, and one day I will find all the time to finish them.

(And this is my idea of free time. Clearly, I have a problem)

Yup. Pretty Much.

Yup. Pretty Much.

Leave a Reply

