Food for Thought: Tortellini in Brodo

Ultimate Chicken Soup!

Ultimate Chicken Soup!

I really hope my kitchen is soundproof, because something about cooking pasta makes me sing. Maybe it’s my Italian-ness coming out, but when I’m making spaghetti or tortellini or penne, I am belting it out.

Now imagine an alto trying to belt "Let it Go"

Now imagine an alto trying to belt “Let it Go”

So, tortellini in brodo is my chicken soup. The ultimate sick/tired/cold/lazy meal. It’s what I cook when I don’t feel like cooking.

This is the magic

This is the magic

Yuuuuuum

Yuuuuuum

Here’s why it’s so simple

What you need:

  • low sodium chicken broth
  • tortellini
  • parmesan

That’s it. Well, and a spoon to eat it all up.

How you make it:

  • Bring chicken broth to a boil (I use the ration of one quart of broth to 8 oz of pasta)
  • Add tortellini, cook for 8 minutes
  • Season to taste
  • Remove from heat
  • Ladle into bowl, top generously with parmesan
  • Eat
Serve with white wine and a good book

Serve with white wine and a good book

Leave a Reply

