Three-Act Structure

I’m working on the outline of my new WIP today, which always starts with the Three-act Structure graph.

The above image is my favorite guide to structuring a story and making sure it has significant forward momentum in the plot. The formula is basic enough that I can plot out the skeleton to my manuscript, while still leaving enough space between points to play around and flesh out characters/plot intrigue.

I’m not saying this is the be-all-end-all. This outline isn’t religion. This is just what works for me to get me started during the outlining/planning portion of writing. I have copious documents that prove I rarely stick to the outline I start out with. But this is just a good story diving board that I highly recommend.

Learn more about the Three-act Structure here!

Leave a Reply

