Food For Thought: Ann Sathers Cinnamon Rolls

You have no idea how excited I was for this.

You have no idea how excited I was for this.

When I was in high school, I used to make an entire package of cinnamon rolls for dinner. It didn’t happen often—only on those rare nights when my parents and sister weren’t home and no one could catch me—and since I was dancing five nights a week, I could eat all that sugary goodness.

Since becoming an “adult”, I haven’t made cinnamon rolls for dinner. Mostly because the idea of me eating an entire package of cinnamon rolls alone, in my sweatpants, on my couch (with my cat) is mildly depressing. And because all the exercise I’d have to do afterward so I can still button up the fly of my jeans terrifies me.

So it’s been…maybe a year since I’ve had a cinnamon roll. Far too long. So the craving’s been quietly growing.

Last weekend, when I was in Chicago for a bachelorette party, the idea was proposed of going to Ann Sathers for brunch. And, it was casually mentioned, the place was known for their cinnamon rolls.

I jumped on the idea so fast, it was like I teleported.

And boy, did they live up. The side dish (SIDE DISH!) consists of two large, gloriously warm cinnamon rolls dripping with liquid sugary frosting. In a word: heaven.

I demand more places provide cinnamon roll side dishes. Think about it: cheeseburger + cinnamon rolls. Burrito + cinnamon rolls. Sushi + cinnamon rolls.

Fantastic idea.

Seriously, it is a thing of beauty

Seriously, it is a thing of beauty

Want to make some glorious cinnamon rolls? Check out the Ann Sathers Cinnamon Roll recipe on Food.com!

Leave a Reply

