Book Recommendation: Blue Lily, Lily Blue

Pretty pretty pretty!

Full disclosure: I am already obsessed with The Raven Cycle. I love the books. I devoured the first two. And Maggie Stiefvater would have to do something bananapants crazy and horrible, like kill off every single character, to keep me from reading and loving the books forever and ever.

So, in case you are completely unaware of what the hell I’m talking about, here’s a rundown of the series thus far. Set in the most magical fictional town in Virginia, Henrietta, The Raven Cycle follows Blue Sargent, the only non-psychic in a family of psychics, and four boys of the elite private all-boys school in town: Adam, Ronan, Noah, and Gansey. The raven boys. Together they search for Glendower, a mythic Welsh king whose grave was hidden somewhere nearby, who will grant a favor (i.e. wish) to whomever wakes him from his eternal sleep.

There’s a lot of awesomeness I’m glossing over, but that’s the basic gist.

Here’s what the latest book is about:

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things, though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.

Mothers can disappear.

Visions can mislead.

Certainties can unravel.

Which is vague, to say the least. But still awesome. Mysteriously awesome…

What Intrigued MeThe Raven Cycle combines a lot of fantastic things. Prep schools (always a fun setting, plus uniforms). Psychics that are both mysterious and down to earth. A lot of different personalities. Legends. Scholarly research. Economic divides. Truly shocking plot twists. Inventive cursing.

Basically, all my favorite things.

What Hooked Me: Okay, I’m finding it really hard to talk about this one book without referencing all of them. Where was I hooked? I was hooked from the very beginning. I was hooked at the cliffhanger of the last book. I was hooked from the first line of this book.

Honestly, Stiefvater is ruthless as an author. She will grab you and claim you as her own and never let you go. There is no escape. Just bow down before her awesomeness.

What Made Me Fall In Love: Can I answer “D: all of the above” again? I just adore the crap out of this series. I am in total euphoria. I am brain washed. My brain is goo. I am now useless as a human being because all I want to talk about is how much I love these books.

I guess if I have to pick something: Noah. No, The Gray Man. No, Ronan. No, Calla. No, Persephone…

Sorry, I’m going to have to go with “D: all of the above”.

Everyone stand clear, my joyous flailing is dangerous

Blue Lily, Lily Blue (and the first two books, The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves) are available on Amazon and at your local fandom supplier (a.k.a. bookstore). Go read them. Now. Like NOW.

Seriously.

Leave a Reply

