Holiday Book Recommendation: Halloween Reads!

SURPRISE!

It’s a holiday double post! In honor of Halloween, I’m listing my favorite scary stories. They’re the perfect books to stay in and read on Halloween night if you’re like me and too old to trick or treat (and too distressed by large crowds to brave NYC on Halloween night).

Alright. Let’s do this.

No time, Mary. There are books to be read!

First up:

Shiver

Seriously, has there been anything that has messed childhood up more that the Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark books? Alvin Schwartz is responsible for SO MANY nightmares (and Stephen Gammell’s illustrations just made it worse). I was utterly terrified by these books and still couldn’t put them down. I don’t know what it is, but I had to keep reading. And then not sleeping at night.

Also, I’m throwing it out there, but “Harold” is the scariest story in this series. Hands down.

Oooooooooo

The one that started it all for me. I read this in sixth grade and instantly became obsessed with Poe. It is the ultimate haunted house/family curse/gothic story. Hell, I’m still obsessed with this story and how much it freaked me out.

Spooky!

Yes, as I child, I was obsessed with the movie version with Patrick Stewart and Neve Campbell. Because it’s 90’s TV movie fabulous in the best way. But the book, by Oscar Wilde, is not to be overlooked. I mean, it’s Oscar-freaking-Wilde. He’s the best. I’m convinced, if he ever started haunting me, we would be the best of friends. Or the sassiest of friends. Same thing.

You know it’s scary from her hair

A new book, but still classic. It’s a “ghost hunter falls in love with ghost” story. And that ghost—Anna? She is terrifying. Like, horror film bad. No. Like Japanese horror film bad, because those are the scariest of horror films. And I loved every minute of it. And she runs amok through this story.

Yeah, like that

I still love this cover

I have already gone on and on about how much I love this creepy book.

Yum. Nicholas Hoult.

Okay, it’s not exactly a creepy book. But zombies scare the crap out of me, so it counts. And this is my favorite zombie book.

Looks treacherous!

Girl living with her brother in a crumbling New England mansion overlooking the sea with a hot stranger living in the guest house who may or may not be the Devil. Yes please. Especially when bad things start happening…

Considering how much of a scaredy cat I am, I love scary stories. And terrible things happening. Just, you know, not to me. Which is why I’m not going out tonight. Bad things happen when I leave my books home.

This has happened to me

Happy Halloween!

4 thoughts on “Holiday Book Recommendation: Halloween Reads!

      • Haha. Well, it depends… It’s very heavy on the Asian horror movie tropes (in a totally awesome way) so if those scare you, the book might. But since the main character is the ghost herself, I think that takes some of the creep factor away because you kind of identify with her. It’s a FANTASTIC book.

Leave a Reply

