NaNoWriMo Week 2: Everyone Experiments In College

*Drool* Anything you say, JGL…

This week, I had a breakthrough. Which has caused a very strange reaction.

Normal NaNo Experience: Normally in NaNo, week 1 is awesome and easy. Week 1 is throwing crap against the wall and seeing what sticks. Week 2 is when you run out of crap to throw and end up ramming yourself against the wall in frustration.

My NaNo Experience: Week 1 sucked. It was seven days of suckage where everything was slow and terrible. Nothing came easy to me, and the ideas were scarce. Week 2 is…fun.

Maybe I’m in a bizarro alternate version of NaNoWriMo…

Here’s how this strange, strange event came to pass:

Like I posted about last week, I was struggling. I was pantsing for the first time. I was writing in present tense for the first time. I wasn’t referencing movies anymore (SOB). I was clawing my way up word count mountain with my torn and ragged fingernails.

And then I reached the point in my manuscript where I got to introduce a few of the secondary characters I was really looking forward to writing. I got to the point in the plot where the shit hits the fan and things get crazy real fast.

But mostly, I finally figured out how I want to tell this story.

Up until this point, the books I had been writing were fairly straightforward and conventional. They had a beginning, middle, and end, and were generally written in that order. There are no crazy elements, the fourth wall is never broken, and it’s written in the traditional modern novel format.

And while this project could technically be told that way as well, it just didn’t feel right. I didn’t feel like it was exciting enough for what I wanted this project to be.

So I turned to a style of writing I had experimented with in college: post-modernism.

In college I had a professor who’s philosophy could be summed up as, “Fuck it. Go for it.” You wanna write a story that’s only six words? Do it. Wanna tell a story in the form of a cookie recipe? Right on. Does your story have to be folded into an origami swan? Hell yeah, do it. You’re an artist, tell the story you want the way you want.

Granted, the pages of my NaNoWriMo novel will not be folded into paper animals. Mostly because, papercuts. But I am pushing the boundaries of form and playing around with how the story is told.

So chronology? Screw it. Alternate forms of storytelling? Bring it.

And because I’m being less rigid with my story, it’s flowing a lot, lot, LOT easier. Granted, I’ll probably have to reign in some of the really out there ideas during editing, but until then “Fuck it. Go for it.”

Current Word Count: 18,506/50,000

Boy, you have NO IDEA.

Leave a Reply

