NaNoWriMo: The Recap

This is me. But with less mustache.

Well, that was a roller coaster. And not a fun one. More like the coaster that made me black out that one time. But I did learn some things about me.

But first, how fast did November go? Seriously? That was scary fast. I honestly have no idea how I managed to do anything.

Now, back to the learning!

  1. I am scary stubborn. A few days before the end of November, I had all but given up. I had fallen several thousand words behind, and I was just not catching up. Every word was a struggle. But I had never lost NaNoWriMo before, and I was not going to start. So as time ticked down, I started word sprinting. Crazy word sprinting. I was a word sprinting monster. It was scary. But I finished. I just haven’t made up my mind if I like it.
  2. There is a difference between lust and love. There have been MSs that I have loved, where no matter how frustrated and tired I was, I still loved the story. Where I had to keep writing, despite every speed bump. I now know there are MSs that I lust, where I am enamored by the concept at the beginning, but the passion flares out and dies. I’m starting to suspect that this MS is a one night stand (or a one month stand). I’m still going to finish it because, well, stubborn, but I’ll have to weigh the amount of work needed to fix this with how much passion I have for the story and how much the other ideas in my head (and in my notebooks) are clamoring for my attention.
  3. I really, really, really don’t like pantsing. Yeah, so, my experiment with winging it? It. Sucked. I hated it. And now that it’s over, I’ve finally thought up the perfect metaphor for the experience.
    So, it’s like free soloing—that crazy kind of rock climbing done without a rope. Rock climbing is hard enough. I just don’t understand why you’d want to add potential fatality to it. But there are people who do it. People who love it. Just not me. Give me my safety line.
    So, in the future, I will be writing my outline. And my chapter outlines. And if I deviate during the writing, so be it, but I will have that baseline to return to.
  4. Characters have a life of their own. Okay, I already knew this. But it’s worth pointing out just how much my characters changed from their original conception. Their refusal to conform to my ideas is a little frightening.

So what does December bring? A nice, relaxing vacation.

Which means a thousand words a day instead of my crazy writing pace. Yup. Vacation.

Yeah, this is about right

Leave a Reply

