Feeling the Love

Well, at least I love JLaw

I’m in a peculiar position. I have a mostly done MS that I no longer love. And I’m not quite sure why.

Maybe it’s because I feel it’s lacking in excitement, that it could use more dramatic twists and turns. Maybe because I didn’t plan out the plot ahead of time, it fell a little flat while I was stressed out about winging it. Maybe because the story I’ve ended up with isn’t as shiny and new as my original idea, and the concept didn’t pan out the way I expected.

Maybe it’s because I haven’t quite managed to get into the head of my MC. Maybe she isn’t as easy to crack as I expected her to be, or as special as I wanted. Maybe she’s still lacking that spark, the thing that makes her come alive and leap off the page.

Maybe it’s because I don’t feel like the story has found it’s unique stride, has found its current in the greater genre river. It doesn’t quite feel…necessary.

Or maybe I’m just in that slump in writing, before I tackle the long list of edits needed. Maybe I’m just burned out and taking it out on my MS. Maybe I’ll fall in love again once I write the ending, or once I get my finger on the pulse of what exactly needs to be fixed in the later drafts.

At the very least, I’m going to finish writing this. Then, I’m going to take a solid two week break to rest, reassess whether or not I want to fix this at a later date, and then move on to something new.

Sound off in the comments: what do you do when you fall out of love with a story?

Miss you, Sean Spencer!

Leave a Reply

