Book Recommendation: Inked

This cover is just stunning!

This isn’t exactly a secret, but I love tattoos. I think they’re beautiful, I love the stories behind them, and I like how the body can become a canvas. Right now I only have one tattoo, but I’m planning on getting more in the future.

That said, if I lived in the world of Eric Smith’s Inked, I wouldn’t want a tattoo. Even though their tattoos are magic and move.

And if there’s anything I want more than a tattoo, it’s a magic tattoo.

Here’s the blurb:

Tattoos once were an act of rebellion.
Now they decide your destiny the moment the magical Ink settles under your skin.

And in a world where Ink controls your fate, Caenum can’t escape soon enough. He is ready to run from his family, and his best friend Dreya, and the home he has known, just to have a chance at a choice.

But when he upsets the very Scribe scheduled to give him his Ink on his eighteenth birthday, he unwittingly sets in motion a series of events that sends the corrupt, magic-fearing government, The Citadel, after him and those he loves.

Now Caenum, Dreya, and their reluctant companion Kenzi must find their way to the Sanctuary, a secret town where those with the gift of magic are safe. Along the way, they learn the truth behind Ink, its dark origins, and why they are the only ones who can stop the Citadel.

Tattoos, magic, corrupt kingdoms? It’s like Smith rummaged through my brain and pulled out all my favorite things.

What Intrigued Me: Okay, I know the magic tattoos aren’t good, but they still sound really, really cool. They move and tell you what you’re destined to be great at! Okay, what the corrupt government says you’ll be great at, but still…

I mean…

They move!

What Hooked Me: All the separate factions. There are the Inked, the Unmarked, and the Conduits, all at battle against each other. And who doesn’t complexity?

What Made Me Fall In Love: Is it really corny to say “the message”? The idea of people fighting to be able to dream and aspire for more? To fight against expectations and the norm and strive for something different?

Kind of corny, I know. But corny can be great.

And now I’m feeling super corny. So let’s just pretend I said “tattoos” instead.

*sigh* So PRETTY!

Inked is available January 20th from Amazon or your local bookstore. Not at tattoo parlors. They don’t sell books there.

Leave a Reply

