Book Recommendation: The Duff

Such yellow letters!

Bonus double book recommendation! No special reason, just because I devoured two books in a day, and felt like sharing them. Also, I’m super late to The Duff party, but still…

I am incredibly picky about my contemporary fiction. I just naturally gravitate towards genre fiction. It’s just my jam. So something really needs to jump out at me for me to pick up a contemporary.

Enter The Duff by Kody Keplinger:

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper may not be the prettiest girl in her high school, but she has a loyal group of friends, a biting wit, and a spot-on BS detector. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush, who calls Bianca the Duff–the designated ugly fat friend–of her crew.

But things aren’t so great at home and Bianca, desperate for a distraction, ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

What Intrigued Me: Okay, I’ll admit, the first I heard of this book was when the trailer was released. But I heart Mae Whitman (Katara is my girl!) and the Amell brothers are turning into the American Hemsworths. And the trailer is just fun:

Nobody insults Katara!

What Hooked Me: Okay, I am one of the least romantic people in the world. The idea of dramatic love scenes and romance makes me break out in hives. So I appreciated that Bianca was the same way.

That being said, the hookup scenes… *fans self vigorously*

John Stamos knows what I’m talkin about.

What Made Me Fall In Love: I’m a sucker for the enemies-to-lovers storyline. It gets me every time. I can’t resist the chemistry of two people who always argue with each other. It’s my Achilles heel.

So lots of bickering and witty repartee, followed by sexy hookup sessions? Yeah, I was a goner from the start.

Weird 40’s Radio Voice Optional

The Duff is available from Amazon or your local bookstore. Read it before the movie comes out!

Leave a Reply

