Book Recommendation: The Darkest Part of the Forest

That butterfly is creeping me out

I am a Holly Black fangirl. Her books are brutal, and I love them. I picked up Tithe when I was in high school, and haven’t been the same since. I’m obsessed with the way her worlds are both gritty and beautiful, dark and magical, scary and tempting.

*Takes deep breath* *Calms the flames of fandom*

Let’s just get right into it:

Hazel lives with her brother, Ben, in the strange town of Fairfold where humans and fae exist side by side. The faeries’ seemingly harmless magic attracts tourists, but Hazel knows how dangerous they can be, and she knows how to stop them. Or she did, once.

At the center of it all, there is a glass coffin in the woods. It rests right on the ground and in it sleeps a boy with horns on his head and ears as pointy as knives. Hazel and Ben were both in love with him as children. The boy has slept there for generations, never waking.

Until one day, he does…

As the world turns upside down and a hero is needed to save them all, Hazel tries to remember her years spent pretending to be a knight. But swept up in new love, shifting loyalties, and the fresh sting of betrayal, will it be enough?

What Intrigued Me: Like I said, I loved Tithe. And then I consumed all her other books in the same universe, about the Fae. I love that now, years later, she’s returning to the same world and writing more faerie stories.

What Hooked Me: The world building. Fairfold is a human town that lies next to a faerie court. Because everyone accepts the faeries as real, and a real danger, they have all these little charms and superstitions to protect themselves. And that level of detail is fantastic.

What Made Me Fall In Love: The triple threat of Ben, Hazel, and Jack. Honestly, I love all three so much, and their dynamic is both so tight and yet so full of secrets, it’s hard to pick a favorite character. They are the triumvirate of power!

But, seriously now, this book is just fantastic and I devoured it in a day. A day. I don’t have time to read entire books in a day anymore, but I

Could.

Not.

Put.

It.

Down.

Truly fantastic, and everything I could have wanted from Holly Black’s return to one of my favorite fictional universes.

Pretty damn accurate

The Darkest Part of the Forest is available January 13th from Amazon and your local magical small town bookstore. Pick up a copy before it’s spirited away.

Leave a Reply

