Pants On Fire

I do. I do.

Soooooo, remember that post that went up yesterday?

The one that said I was restarting my project, and was gonna stay focused and try a new, more plotted-out approach?

The one that was all upbeat and excited about starting over?

Yeah, I’m a big fat lying face.

Because, not even two hours after that post went live, I started a new project.

Yup, another new WIP. Because I’m a glutton for punishment. Or a crazy person. Take your pick.

But–and here’s where the lying gets even worse–it’s not YA, like all my other projects.

It’s MG.

Here’s the deal: it’s a story concept I’ve been turning over and over in my head for a while, but didn’t plan on starting for a very, very long time. Why? Because I only had the most basic of concepts, equivalent to some random bits of magnetic poetry stuck to a fridge, that don’t actually form a coherent sentence. Or even a wacky, funny sentence. It was more like some random nouns and the odd “ing” strung together.

But, even more so, I put it off because middle grade intimidates the crap out of me.

Not that I’m saying writing for any other age range is easier. Believe me, I know, it’s not. Writing books is haaaaard. But MG seemed so much harder.

Was it because of the limited word count?

Was it because of the precarious balance of getting the tone just right?

Was it because my middle grade years were kind of terrible, and I didn’t want to force myself to go back there, even fictionally?

Was it because I wouldn’t be able to curse, and I find it challenging to censor myself?

Was it all of those? Probably.

But there I was, dumbly staring out into space, and the first line popped into my head. And the second. And the third line. And, well, I just had to write them down, right?

Now here I am, two chapters deep, doing the gleeful new-project-world-building happy dance. Like a doofus.

So what does this mean, going forward?

For one, I am not ready to put aside the YA WIP. For crying out loud, I just restarted it! It’s mapped out! I got this!

But…

Buuuuuutttt…

The Siren call of the MG has got me. I did not tie myself to the mast (what up, Homer reference).  So, I will attempt to juggle them both.

*deep breath* Yeah, I can do this.

And this also means, a new WIP meter on the sidebar. Those things are seriously getting out of hand. I’m going to need to get a sheepdog to corral those suckers.

So, let us take this day by day and see what happens. And by “us”, I mean me. You guys don’t have to do anything. You just get to sit back and watch.

So  will take this day by day, and hope I’m not making a horrible mistake.

I know, DRads. I KNOW!

Leave a Reply

