Book Recommendation: Ready Player One

This is not the kind of trailer I want

In case you missed it this week, there was some VERY EXCITING Ready Player One movie news.

Also, the book is all about an Easter Egg. Which seemed especially apropos this week.

All that, coupled with the fact that I had zero time to read, makes it the perfect time to revisit one of my faves for my weekly Book Recommendation.

Let’s do this:

In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world’s digital confines—puzzles that are based on their creator’s obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them.

But when Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade’s going to survive, he’ll have to win—and confront the real world he’s always been so desperate to escape.

CAN THIS MOVIE COME OUT TOMORROW, PLEASE?!?!

What Intrigued Me: It’s nerd scifi! Let’s be real here, geek heroes are the best heroes. They’re usually the smartest person in the room, have all the good quips, and (like me) have zero physical ability. Totally relatable.

What Hooked Me: 80’s nostalgia! I’m technically a child of the 80’s (even though I was too young to remember it), and I am educated on the pop culture. I know my movies and TV shows. So references to War Games and Back to the Future? Going line-for-line on Monty Python and the Holy Grail? They slay me. I’m an addict and I just want moooooore.

What Made Me Fall In Love: Ready Player One is essentially a scavenger hunt of a book (with 80’s references). And who doesn’t love scavenger hunts? The reader becomes a contestant in the game, not just rooting on the heroes, but competing against them to figure out the clues and see if you would find the Easter Egg first.

Which is why this year, instead of hiding colored eggs full of candy, I’ll be hiding copies of Ready Player One for kids to find. In my opinion, it’s a much better prize.

See? Ann Miller is so excited for Ready Player One.

Ready Player One is available online or at your local bookstore. But honestly, why would you ever want to get off the internet?

Leave a Reply

