Magic Formula

 

IT’S OFFICIAL: I HAVE GIVEN UP PANTSING

 

Well, this year-long experiment in pantsing has finally come to a close with the following conclusion: I suck at it.

Now, there’s nothing wrong with pantsing. Pantsing is a perfectly fine method for writing. It just is not my method. It’s too open, too flexible, too freeing. Anything can happen with pantsing, and that scares me a little. I get literary agoraphobia—the plot possibilities are too wide, too open, and I panic.

Let’s face it, I’m too much of an anxiety-ridden control freak to be laid back about my writing.

So I’m back to outlining. And not just basic outlining, but detailed, classical literary outlining. Hero’s Journey outlines and Monomyth outlines and Three Act Structures.

Oh, classic literary structure, how I’ve missed you! Never leave me again!

Sound off in the comments: what writing method works for you?

One thought on “Magic Formula

  1. It’s so funny how much people’s methods vary! I like to do a very lose bullet point chapter by chapter plan (in pencil in a journal – don’t know why but I can’t stand it in type) but then I won’t look at it at all until I’ve completed a whole draft of my book. Most of the time I’ve gone a completely different direction to my plan just touching in from time to time and hitting the start and ending as expected ☺️ xoxo

Leave a Reply

