Summertime Scares

And I love this movie

There is something about summer that makes me crave ghost stories, and generally creepy things. Which is out of character, because I am normally terrified of…well…everything. I don’t watch scary movies. I don’t do haunted houses. Hell, sometimes I don’t like going into costume stores around Halloween because the masks freak me out.

But when it gets hot out, I crave a good scary story.

And that love of creepy things is taking over my life.

What I’m Reading:

The book is literally called The Creeping. It’s like I was perusing the shelves at my local bookstore, thinking I want to be creeped out, saw this book and figured that it was the obvious answer. There was no mistaking what I was getting into.

Literally just bought this today. Haven’t had a chance to crack it open yet. But golly, am I excited to dive into this over the weekend.

What I’m Watching:

Don’t Blink

There are few things I love more than the “Blink” episode of Doctor Who. Watch it. Watch it late at night. Watch it when you’re alone. Watch it during a summer thunder storm. Watch it with a strong alcoholic beverage.

And then, try to go to sleep.

What I’m Listening To:

This eerie fictional podcast is like The X-Files but with zero aliens and more demons. And really, really terrifying background music/sound effects. The podcast has given me the shivers on the subway during my morning commute.

And if you are familiar with the humid, fetid cesspool that is the New York subway system in summer, you understand why shivering is nigh impossible.

If your podcast predilection is more non-fiction, then Lore is the creepy podcast for you. Each episode is a deep dive into the history and origins of a different urban legend, and learning has never been so fun. From the unexpected origins of Bram Stoker’s Dracula, to the many sightings of the New Jersey Devil, it’ll make anyone feel like an amateur ghost hunter.

Just, you know, without having to leave the couch.

Fun Fact: despite the, occasionally, disturbing subject matter, I find the narration and background music weirdly soothing. Apparently I find listening about hauntings and things that go bump in the night very relaxing.

What I’m Writing:

Well, obviously, this scary story binge fest is starting to sneak into my writing. What can I say? I love creepy things and, apparently, I love writing creepy things too. So, for the foreseeable future (and at least until the end of the summer), I will continue to inhale my ghost stories and continue to terrorize my CPs with nightmare-inducing prose (most nightmares caused by how horrific my spelling is) until I no longer find creepy tales cool.

Here’s a secret: I will always find creepy tales cool.

Yasss

Leave a Reply

