Top Twelve Books of 2015

#truth

I read a lot. This past year, I attempted to read 75 books (I only made it to 70…so close) and a lot of them were YA. There were a lot I loved, and quite a few I…didn’t.

So, to sum up 2015, I tried to make a list of the top 10 YA books I read over the year. Key word “tried.” Honestly, I couldn’t narrow it down to 10. There were just too many I fell in love with.

Therefore, this is a Top 12 list!

  1. BONE GAP by Laura Ruby

    God, how many times can I wax poetic about this book? I absolutely loved it. It’s so magical and wonderful, and holy crap the feels are off the chart. I was very close to giving this book to everyone on my Christmas list, and then demanding they all call me once they finish reading. So very close.
  2. NIMONA by Noelle Stevenson

    If you haven’t gotten a chance to pick up the spectacular Nimona yet, do it now. Go out, go to the bookstore, risk the crazy pre-holiday crowd and fight against last minute present shoppers to grab a copy. It’s just that amazing. And then ask yourself, why don’t more high fantasy worlds feature mad scientists and high tech gizmos?
  3. THE SHADOW BEHIND THE STARS by Rebecca Hahn

    Normally, I don’t go for tragedy. I prefer a happy ending. But I couldn’t resist the Greek Mythology plot. And really, even though I cried, I loved every minute of it. This book pairs perfectly with a pint of dark chocolate ice cream.
  4. 5 TO 1 by Holly Bodger

    It is a well known fact that I am not a poetry fan. Just…nope. So a book in verse it always going to be a tough sell for me. But this is a feminist sci-fi-esque book in verse, which was just too awesome sounding to pass up. And I am so glad I didn’t, because 5 to 1 is just splendid. Just. Splendid.
  5. THE WRATH AND THE DAWN by Renee Ahdieh

    Yaaassss Queen!
  6. OUR BROTHERS AT THE BOTTOM OF THE BOTTOM OF THE SEA by Jonathan Kranz

    This is one of those cases where I stumbled upon the perfect book at the perfect time. Kranz’s novel should be devoured at the height of summer, when the heat is driving you mad, and all you want to do is eat popsicles. It’s perfect depressing summer reading (a.k.a. the best kind of beach reading).
  7. THE REST OF US JUST LIVE HERE by Patrick Ness

    Imagine watching an episode of Buffy from the POV of an extra. Yeah, it’s just like that. And just as awesome.Also, God of Cats (a.k.a. what’s going on my next business card).
  8. THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST by Holly Black

    It is a well known fact that I adore Holly Black. Tithe messed me up (in the best way) when I first read it. And TDPOTF is just as emotionally manipulative (again, in the best way). It’s unstoppably-binge-eating-cookies emotionally manipulative, which is the best and unhealthiest way to vent book related feelings. I must have single-handedly boosted Pepperidge Farm’s stock price.
  9. WOLF BY WOLF by Ryan Graudin

    Inglorious Basterds Hunger Games. GO.
  10. ATLANTA BURNS by Chuck Wendig

    Hi, my name is Erica and I love morally complicated kickass heroines with dark, tortured pasts. My fictional #squadgoals are Veronica Mars, Jessica Jones, and now Atlanta Burns. She can even bring the sawed off shotgun.
  11. CHARLIES, PRESUMED DEAD by Anne Heltzel

  12. LAIR OF DREAMS by Libba Bray

    Bray’s Diviners series checks so many boxes on my love list, it’s like she’s been spying on me to craft the books specifically for me (which I don’t think I would mind all that much). And as much as I loved the first novel, the second one completely exceeded my very high expectations.What can I say, all a girl wants is homicidal ghosts.

    So that’s it, the Top 12! Looking forward to what new books 2016 will bring.

Stop trying to make fetch happen

Leave a Reply

