Book Recommendation: FABLES

51vw2ozb-ol-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Let’s Get Mythical

If I had a bucket list (which I probably do, I just haven’t written it down…or thought all that much about it), it would basically be only one thing: “read every single fairy tale retelling in existence.” And in the past 20-odd years, I must have made a significant dent in the lexicon. I would think. I mean, I’ve read a lot.

And now, I have plunged head first into the world of graphic novels.

When a savage creature known only as the Adversary conquered the fabled lands of legends and fairy tales, all of the infamous inhabitants of folklore were forced into exile. Disguised among the normal citizens of modern-day New York, these magical characters have created their own peaceful and secret society within an exclusive luxury apartment building called Fabletown. But when Snow White’s party-girl sister, Rose Red, is apparently murdered, it is up to Fabletown’s sheriff, a reformed and pardoned Big Bad Wolf, to determine if the killer is Bluebeard, Rose’s ex-lover and notorious wife killer, or Jack, her current live-in boyfriend and former beanstalk-climber.

tumblr_ltncqc3o2n1r4ghkoo1_500

Yup

What Intrigued Me: Right away, the series established its lore credentials by introducing Rose Red, one of the more obscure (and one of my favorite) fairy tale characters. Because, considering how much notoriety her sister Snow White has gotten over the years, it’s about time she steps into the forefront.

And finally, after years of explaining who Rose Red is to people who’ve never heard of her, I can just direct them to Fables.

What Hooked Me: Bureaucracy. Chalk this up to something that drives me nuts in real life, but amuses the hell out of me in fiction. But seriously, how hilarious is it to see fairy tale characters stymied by a bureaucratic government of their own creation. Nothing less magical than bureaucracy.

What Made Me Fall In Love: Like I said, I’ve read a lot of fairy tale retellings. So finding something completely unique and clever is like candy. Like eating a lot of candy.

Almost like eating a house made of candy.

wolf-the-10th-kingdom-image-wolf-the-10th-kingdom-36548125-245-160

I have a food obsession

Fables (all 22 volumes) are available online and at your local comic store. Nab a copy before someone huffs, puffs, and blows them all away.

Leave a Reply

